Daytime “Shinny” Ice

We have daytime shinny ice available at the Sixteen Mile Sports Complex from September to June. This is informal, unscheduled ice time intended for singles skaters to use to complement their training or get additional lessons from their coach. Please sign in at the Skate Oakville office before stepping on the ice.

Permission for Ice Dance Teams and Pairs Teams to skate on Shinny ice is at the sole discretion of the Skate Oakville office at all times. You are required to check in at the Skate Oakville office before stepping on the ice.

Eligibility: Figure skaters from all clubs are welcome on Shinny Ice, but must have proof of a current Skate Canada membership. Any coaches wishing to coach on Shinny must show their current Skate Canada registration card. Skaters must have passed CanSkate Stage 5 in order to be eligible to skate on Shinny Ice. Beginner skaters should have supervision from their coach while on the ice.

Pricing

  • Skate Oakville Members: $12.00 per hour
  • Non-Skate Oakville Members: $15.00 per hour
  • 15-Hour passes can be purchased at the office for $150.00 (Skate Oakville Members) or $200.00 (Non-Skate Oakville Members).

*Please note: we only charge by the hour for all shinny payments. (Ex.: anything under 1 hour is credited at 1 hour, once above 1 hour, it is rounded up to the next hour.)

Shinny Policies - Please Read

 Shinny Schedule for September 3, 2019 through June 26, 2020

FLOODS: 9:00am, 11:00am, 12:40pm, 2:10pm (Wed Only)

Monday 8:00-9:00 am (RINK #1)
9:15-11:00 am (RINK #3)
11:10-2:20 pm (RINK #1)
2:15-3:05 pm (RINK #3)
 
Tuesday 8:00-9:00 am (RINK #1)
9:15-11:00 am (RINK #3)
11:10-2:50 pm (RINK #1)
 
Wednesday 8:00-9:00 am (RINK #1)
9:15-11:00 am (RINK #3)
11:10-3:35 pm (RINK #1)
 
Thursday 8:00-9:00 am (RINK #1)
9:15-11:00 am (RINK #3)
11:10-2:20 pm (RINK #1)
2:15-3:05 pm (RINK #3)
 
Friday 8:00-3:05 pm (RINK #3)  

*Please note, the rinks may change without notice, always check the TV screens located at the arena for the most up to date information

Known Exceptions

Please check this page regularly for changes/exceptions. Dates will be added throughout the season. Dates are subject to change and should be checked frequently.

  • Tuesday September 10, 2019 - 8:00-9:20am (Rink #1), 9:30-10:20am (Rink #2), 10:30-2:50pm (Rink #1)
  • Wednesday September 11, 2019 - 8:00-3:35pm (Rink #4)
  • Thursday September 12, 2019 - 8:00-3:15pm (Rink #2) ONLY
  • Friday September 20, 2019 - No Shinny
  • Monday October 14, 2019 - Thanksgiving, No Shinny
  • Monday November 25, 2019 - 8:00-2:35pm (Rink #4), 2:15-3:05pm (Rink #3)
  • Thursday December 5, 2019 - 8:00-9:00am (Rink #1), 9:15-11:00am (Rink #3), 11:10-1:45pm (Rink #1) ONLY
  • Friday December 6, 2019 - 11:15-1:15pm (Glen Abbey Green), No Shinny at Sixteen Mile
  • Tuesday December 10, 2019 - 8:00-3:20pm (Glen Abbey Green), No Shinny at Sixteen Mile
  • Wednesday December 11, 2019 - Shinny Ends at 3:05pm
  • Tuesday December 24, 2019 - No Shinny
  • Wednesday December 25, 2019 - No Shinny
  • Thursday December 26, 2019 - No Shinny
  • Friday December 27, 2019 - No Shinny
  • Monday December 30, 2019 - No Shinny
  • Tuesday December 31, 2019 - No Shinny
  • Wednesday January 1, 2020 - No Shinny
  • Wednesday February 5, 2020 - 8:00-9:00am (Rink #1), 9:15-11:00am (Rink #3), 11:10-2:20pm (Rink #1),  2:15-3:05pm (Rink #3)
  • Tuesday February 11, 2020 - 8:00-2:50pm (Rink #4)
  • Thursday February 13, 2020 - 8:00-2:05pm (Rink #3), 2:15-3:05pm (Rink #4)
  • Monday February 17, 2020 - Family Day, No Shinny
  • Wednesday February 19, 2020 - 8:00-3:20pm (Rink #2)
  • Thursday February 20, 2020 - 8:00-10:50am and 12:30-3:20pm (Glen Abbey Green)
  • Friday February 21, 2020 - 8:00-10:50am (Glen Abbey Green)
  • Tuesday February 25, 2020 - 8:00-11:50am ONLY (Glen Abbey Green)
  • Monday March 16, 2020 - 8:00-2:35pm (Rink #1) ONLY
  • Tuesday March 17, 2020 - 8:00-2:50pm (Rink #1) ONLY
  • Wednesday March 18, 2020 - 8:00-3:35pm (Rink #1) ONLY
  • Thursday March 19, 2020 - 8:00-2:05pm (Rink #1) ONLY
  • Friday March 20, 2020 - 8:00-2:50pm (Rink #1) ONLY
  • Friday April 10, 2020 - Good Friday, No Shinny
  • Monday April 13, 2020 - Easter Monday, No Shinny
  • Monday May 18, 2020 - Victoria Day, No Shinny

Frequently Asked Questions

It all depends on the day, time of year and other skaters. It's hard to predict how many skaters will be on the ice at any given day/time.

Yes. All skaters are required to sign in at the office, and pay for their ice time, before stepping on the ice. This can be done when you arrive, you do not need to make arrangements with us ahead of time.

We accept cash, debit, Mastercard and Visa payments for Shinny ice at the office.

Figure skaters from all clubs are welcome on Shinny Ice, but must have proof of a current Skate Canada membership. Any coaches wishing to coach on Shinny must show their current Skate Canada registration card. Skaters must have passed CanSkate Stage 5 in order to be eligible to skate on Shinny Ice.

Please read our shinny etiquette and policies here.